funeral homes in Lakewood, CO
Cremations

Social media plays a big role in our lives today. Most everyone you know has a Facebook account as this is the social media giant that started it all. But what happens to the account after someone passes away? Are there steps you should take to determine how your account is handled when you are gone? What does it mean to have an account “memorialized”? As providers of cremation services in Denver, CO. we often get asked these questions and more.

Today we are going to share what you need to know about Facebook accounts and how they can be handled when it comes to passing away. Note that the information here is specific to the Facebook platform. This means that if you or your loved one had additional accounts on other platforms, such as Twitter, you would need to contact them directly as each platform has its own policies in regard to how accounts are handled after passing away.

About Memorialized Facebook Accounts

If your loved one did not set a legacy contact or choose to have their account deleted after they pass, you can have the account “memorialized”.

Memorializing your loved one’s Facebook account after they pass is a way to keep their profile page visible and allow friends and family to have a virtual place to visit and share photos and memories.

Once the account has been memorialized some of its features will change. These changes include:

  • The page will no longer appear in any public searches as in “People You May Know” or birthday suggestions
  • The word “Remembering” will be added to the person’s profile next to their name to signify it is a memorial page
  • Friends may or may not be able to share photos on the memorialized timeline (if they can or not will be determined by what setting the account had chosen)
  • The content that was previously posted on the timeline will remain.
  • The account will remain as is and nobody will be allowed to log into the account to make changes

How to Memorialize a Facebook Account

To have a loved one’s account memorialized after they pass, you will need to contact Facebook directly. You may need digital files to include with the online request such as the death certificate, personal identification, and proof of relationship to the deceased.

Setting a Legacy and Deleting Accountfuneral homes in Lakewood, CO

Facebook allows users to determine ahead of time what will happen to their account if they pass. Users can go into their settings to choose which option they would like to have.

The two options are:

  • Setting a legacy contact – This appointed legacy will be able to log into the account and have limited access.
  • Delete account after passing – This setting tells Facebook that upon being notified of their death, to completely delete their account and all content.

If your loved one did not choose one of these options, then after their cremation services in Denver, CO, you will be able to contact Facebook and request for it to be memorialized.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Immediate Need

303-425-9511

General Inquiry

303-502-9179

X

Updated cemetery policies are effective Dec. 1st.

X